Personal Assistant: a Job Description

Update: I have hired Kasey Bradley for this role and am excited to be working with him. Thank you to everyone that applied and went through my idiosyncratic process!


I need a personal assistant to help me get stuff done. Not just SmallBox stuff but anything really, within reason. No laundry or yard work. In addition to SmallBox related work, areas of focus will include new business ideas, side projects (Speakeasy, Musical Family Tree, Springboard, etc) and exploration of random rabbit holes. Must live in or near Indianapolis, preferrably near Broad Ripple- I'm not looking for a "virtual" assistant. I will need this person to sit in meetings on my behalf and run errands.
Ideally this person has just graduated from high school or college and wants a “gap” year. Or it could be someone who just wants a change of pace. I don’t expect anyone to last more than 12 months in this position so one of their jobs will be to find their replacement as they approach burn out- or as I clarified below- they out grow the role. Advancement opportunities may be available as well.
This person must be 50% problem solver, 50% workhorse and 25% mind reader. Intelligence and curiosity are givens. Quick learner is a requirement. Computer and communication skills must be solid.

The following will help:

Aligned with my personal purpose statement: to orchestrate creativity
as well as the SmallBox purpose statement: to transform work.

Willingness to tell me no.

Ability to understand the big picture from a quick snapshot.

Write well.

Thrives on erratic hours.

Enjoys running errands and has the transportation to do so. (mileage compensated)

Ability to parse messages that may be lacking context. 

Be a good sounding board for ideas.

A desire to research different subject matters and provide short, scannable briefs.

Recording experience with both digital and analog formats.

Committed to continual growth.

Annoyed by wasting time.

Design and code skills a big plus.

The Other Stuff:

Time: 40 hours a week roughly.

Salary- $25-35k depending on experience.

Benefits- SmallBox pays half of health for employees and dependents. Time off available and encouraged.

Perks- iPhone and bill paid, MacBook Pro.

Start- as soon as possible.

How to apply for this job:

Contact me at

You are welcome to send a resume but I am more interested in you sending links to work you have done. Bonus points for those that can do something creative to demonstrate some of the desired attributes I listed above. I’ll chose the top 3-5 applicants for interviews and respond to everyone that applies.  

Note: I'll update this post when the job has been filled.